COURTESY CALL ON DAPECOL CHIEF

Chief Inspector Edgardo Mendoza Jr., never thought that he would ascend the apex of regional correctional leadership but on the last quarter of the previous year, he was directed to superintend Davao Penal Colony (Dapecol).  He is currently the Chief Superintendent of a penal establishment.  And indeed, it was somekind of reunion for him since a few years back, he was assigned in the area as back up security supervisor.  Dapecol’s prestige and confidence continued to soar high.

I was excited to shake the hand of the officer, actually the 8th official to take the helm since my retirement in 2015 in the same post.  I was one of Dapecol longest reigning administrator and felt that the organization has been synchronized with my system already.  And so, there I was in the office of the Superintendent, in the office of Edgardo, a member of the so called Vinarao’s finest, one of my students in the prison training school, savoring the happy memories we shared in the service.

I was proud to visit my former office occupied by a respectable, trained senior officer, a fellow old school, conservative and tutored in good manners and right conduct.

That moment, we had an exchange of proposition.  I gave him two of my books and he, in turn, gave me a souvenir personalized mug.

About Ven J. Tesoro

writer, prison officer, artist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment