CHANCE MEETING A FORMER STAFF

It’s almost a decade since I left government service.  By skipping usual routine, I was very serious in my entry into the world of modest pensioners.  I have folded and kept my mementoes in boxes, threw away unncecessary items and intentionally forgotten my monotonous schedule in office.  I have virtually embraced the life of a civilian, a regime without organized restraints, days without observing rules and everything I am dealing with is subject to my own personal regulations.  In other words, I am free, unemcumbered and yes, jobless too. 

While tending my garden, an old man stopped by and inquired.  The figure was neighborly.  The fellow was my former staff!  It was Efren Bayanin, a senior correctional officer of Davao Penal Colony, also a retiree.   He lives a few blocks from my place.  Despite our proximity however we are distantly busy with our respective concerns.  It was a chance meeting.

 We were in our civies, in casual shirts and shorts, none of the formal gallant uniform we were fond of wearing.  We looked very pedestrian and since we merely got up our bed, early that morning, we may even be regarded by strangers as homeless beings!

It’s a bit refreshing to see familiar figures.  Especially former staffers, they who were constantly running that part of government service where both of your integrity were on the line.  Accomplishing the fulfillment of roles and bowing out of the service smoothly was like enduring war without fatal injuries.  I felt I saw in Efren a chivalrous war veteran because he retired recently at a time when Bucor was virtually battered and abused.  It took a lot of luck and prayer to overcome the offensive regime.  I retired earlier and skipped that challenging part.

Seeing upclose an unscathed survivor- colleague made my day.

About Ven J. Tesoro

writer, prison officer, artist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment