ISLAMIC LIFE

Islam is an Arabic word for submission.  Taken in the context of belief, Islam is “submission to the will of God.”  Followers of Islam are called Muslims.  Once, they were called Moors by Europeans.  Muslims are monotheistic and worship one, all-knowing God, known in Arabic as Allah.  They venerate no Saints or other supernatural representation.  They only have high respects for prophets and mystics.

That was the farthest I could comprehend about the Muslim religion, nothing more.  Most of those impressions were conveyed to me since I was designated to head a penal facility in Davao, the de facto capital of Mindanao—the bedrock of Muslim religion.

And it would be emphasized further when I inspected the camp where maximum security prisoners were housed, a number of them Muslims.  In one occasion, I noticed a dilapidated facility and small tower like spike with a protruding wood carving that looked like a crescent.  I ordered my security personnel to check on the facility and ask what it was.

“Sir, maayong aga po.  Ano po yan, moske namin po.”  volunteered an old man seated nearby adjacent to the platform where I was situated.  The prison guard at my back said, “Sir, inmate po natin yan.  Sabi niya simbahan daw po ng Muslim yan.”

I asked for the head of security and directed him, “Brod, moske pala yan, bakit mukhang hindi maayos.  Ang alam ko mga moske, magagarang istraktura, artistic.  Ipa-ayos natin yan.”

The inmate who volunteered earlier said, “Sir, pasensiya na po.  Kami na lang po mag-aayos ng moske, kasi bawal po galawin yan ng hindi Muslim.  Magagalit po si Allah.”

I said, “Ok tatang, hahanap ako ng Muslim na prison guards dito, at asistehan na lang ninyo mga magkakapanalig dito para i-ayos ang inyong dasalan.  Magpapadala ako ng mga gamit.”

Unfortunately, at that time, there were no Muslims among our prison personnel except for my deputy who was converted Muslim or what was referred to as “balik-Muslim.”  When I called him, he said “Bumalik na po ako sa pagiging Katoliko.  Pero kung gusto po ninyo sasamahan ko kayo dun sa distrito kung saan ako bininyagan bilang Muslim.”

I was flabbergasted.  My deputy thought that I called him because I wanted to be a Muslim.  I retorted, “Alam mo brod, hindi yun ang sasabihin ko sayo, akala ko kasi Muslim ka pa.  Ikaw sana gagawin ko in charge sa repair ng Mosque sa loob ng kampo.  Anyway, sige samahan mo na lang ako dun sa sinabi mong lugar at ako na lang magpabinyag para mai-ayos lang ang moske sa loob.”

It was in Toril District of Davao City, a predominant Muslim town, almost 70 kilometers from our base, where a kindly old man, the Imam, met us in his house.  My deputy talked to him and we were ushered in their shaded lawn.  I was given numerous hand-outs and magazines about Islam and Muslim culture.  The old man also gave me a hard cover book with golden piping and artistic designs.  “Yan po ang Holy Q’oran.” said the Imam.

I vowed my head in gratitude.  It was a pity I never brought anything of value to the kindly old man as recompense for his hospitality. (I returned after a month and gave him a brand new wrist watch.) Nonetheless, the old religious man continued with his ritual.

He shared to me insights, ideas, opinions as a holy man and reminded me of the do’s and don’ts as a convert.  He gave me pointers on how to remain faithful to the belief, the proper Islamic perspective, the prayers or Salah, the discipline and decorum.  The Imam was vehement in his tirade against terrorism and violence of any kind.  It took us almost two hours of fellowship.

“Wala po kaming baptismo gaya ng Kristiyano.  Sapat sa amin ang sampalataya at paniwala sa isang Diyos, kay Allah para maituring na isang Muslim.  At para may pagpapatunay na kayo ay Muslim, kayo po ay mabibigyan ng pangalang Muslim.”

“Ganon po ba.  Sige po.  Kayo na po magbigay sa akin ng pangalan.”

“Lihim sa ating kasaysayan ang pagiging Muslim ni Jose Rizal nung siya ay nanirahan sa Dapitan.  Ang mga ninuno ko po ang gumabay sa kanyang pagsanib sa aming paniwala.  Sa tingin ko po mabuti sa inyo ko ibigay pangalan ni Rizal kasi magkasing laki kayo.  Ayon kasi sa ninuno ko, maliit daw si Dr. Rizal.  Kaya kayo po sa Muslim na pamayanan ay makikilalang si HUSEIN RASUL.  Yan po ang ngalan ni Rizal sa Muslim.”

Of course, I did not question such contentious claim baka ako itakin!

I went back to my prison facility, showed the Muslim inmates that I was conscripted into their fold, introduced my Muslim name and began directing Muslim prisoners to install carpentry works, cementing floors and walls, rebuilding the mosque and applying new tiles and paint.  In a month’s time, the mosque was humbly gleaming with the sacredness it deserved and there I was in my quarters, praying five times a day!

I was head of Davao Penal Colony in 1994 for a brief tenure a month less to a year.  I have not accomplished much except to maintain the status quo, befriended the staff and showed a lot of heart and empathy to the prison community.  It was my first provincial assignment.  Thereafter, I was sent to Palawan, to Iwahig Penal Colony.

About Ven J. Tesoro

writer, prison officer, artist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment